keitopalette

A little house cleaning…

Yesterday my husband and I moved our daughter into a college dorm 110 miles (@117 km) away.  I have been wanting to crochet something for her new room so I was delighted when she asked me to (Tunisian) crochet her a pillow with West Highland Terriers.  She designed the pattern and chose the yarn.

Westies

Although I am not a fan of burnt orange, I think it came out pretty cute and she was super happy about it.

With her “stuff” gone, I also did some decluttering around the house.  This actually made me feel a little uneasy, but I know that it won’t be long before I am glad that I took time to reorganize things.

On my Around-the-Bases CAL, I also did a little decluttering and rearranged things just a tiny bit.  I am usually not adventurous in trying out new things that involve computers and webword but I learned about http://www.printfriendly.com from the super supportive CAL – Crochet A Long group on Facebook.  And with the help of one of my wonderful testers, I was able to figure out how to add a link that automatically creates a printer friendly PDF version of my blog post.  What is so neat about this is that users can customize the PDF by:

  • changing text size
  • removing images
  • deleting paragraph(s) (hover over a paragraph and click to delete – see below)

Printer Friendly

I am so excited to to have learned of this option as it will eliminate the discrepancy between PDF versions and blog posts, while allowing viewers to access printer-friendly patterns to save trees and printer ink (which was my original intent when I created the PDF versions).

I will be working on reformatting/decluttering the 1st and 2nd innings in the coming week.

6 comments on “A little house cleaning…

  1. Patty
    August 24, 2015

    Thank you so much for this new print version!! I see myself wanting to make more of these in the future and this will make printing the pattern so much easier!

    Like

    • Sylvia
      August 26, 2015

      I love the pillow and seeing the burned orange, I have a gut feeling that we moved our daughters to the same place this summer😀. Mine is in an apartment and a sophomore. Cheers to our girls🍻.
      Ps, my daughter’s room is now my yarn room. Just saying……

      Like

      • ChiChi
        August 30, 2015

        I went to A&M and live in College Station, so I dreaded making that pillow…. But it is a great school and she is having a great time there. Hope your daughter’s year is starting out well, too! (and I like the yarn room idea…)

        Like

  2. scallum123llum
    October 6, 2015

    I am very amazed by the information of this blog and i am glad i had a look over the blog. thank you so much for sharing such great information

    Like

  3. Brittni
    May 5, 2016

    That pillow is so cute! We too have a college goer… I feel you on the “uneasy…”

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
