keitopalette

What do you do while crocheting?

I started on the idea of Around-the-Bases CAL while I watched college baseball.  I wanted something that kept my hands busy while watching the game but not too complicated that it will distract me from watching.  (Boys we sit with at the baseball game said it is like them keeping baseball statistics.  Isn’t that true with all the counting and multiplying involved in this CAL?)

But what I am actually nuts about is college football!  I live in a college town, located in the middle of a triangle between Dallas, Austin, and Houston.  The town is growing but used to be a small town and still carries the charm of a small town.  It is the home of my alama mater, Texas A&M University, where over 62,000 students attend.

My love of American football actually started 30 years go when I attended high school in Chicago as an exchange student from Japan.  My host family’s dad was a head football coach at a local high school.  (He is now retired and coaches football every summer in Switzerland!)

Bring that girl to Texas where every weekend in the fall operates around football.  I just LOVE it!!  It involves a lot of getting together with friends, BBQing, socializing, trash talking, and dressing up.  Yep, we dress up for football games.  It usually consists of wearing our school colors but I love taking out my game day cowboy boots.  I snapped this photo with my boots yesterday before we headed out to our first home game at the newly renovated Kyle Field, where over 104,000 watched Aggies BTHO Ball State University.  Whoop!

Game Day

And when we are not at the football field, this is what I do.  Today I will be watching the replay of the game and working on my Scoreboard Knit Along, which is also a lot of fun!

Living Room on Game Day

I would love to hear what you do when you are working on the ATB CAL!  Please share on our CAL – Crochet A Long group on Facebook and Around-the-Bases CAL group on Ravelry.

2 comments on “What do you do while crocheting?

  1. Gail
    September 13, 2015

    What a fantastic idea! You are a talent lady!!!!

    Like

  2. zillahrose
    September 13, 2015

    Omg!! I can’t believe this but I live in CS/B too!! 😀 hi neighbor!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
