keitopalette

Loving fall

It is finally feeling like an autumn here in Texas.  Day time temperature is now in the mid 70s F (low 20s C?) but what tells me more that fall is here is my love for non-cotton yarn returns.  I wrote about my love for cotton here but I can finally bring out some acrylic and wool yarn (and enjoy crocheting with them)!

I have been blessed with Stone Washed yarn from Scheepjes and I must report that it has become my favorite yarn!   4 stone washedIt is VERY soft and squishy.  It has more “body” than my other favorite yarn from Scheepjes, Cotton 8.  It is a perfect weight (not too thick, not too thin) – it does not make me sweat crocheting.  And the colors are just gorgeous!

So as soon as the temperature started dropping, I picked up my 4-Kata ATB afghan I started when the CAL fist started.  Here was my beauty after the first inning (you can read more about it here – it includes the link to the center block pattern, color names, etc.)

Stone Washed 1st Inning

and I am happy to report that she has grown into a mature beauty!!
Stone Washed Week 13

She now measures 46 inches across.

Stone Washed Week 13 top view

I am excitedly planning on which colors to place for the remaining 3 innings.  I think I need a little more white (it’s called Moon Stone) – what do you think?

And in case you have not heard, Wool Warehouse now carries Scheepjes yarn.  I went crazy when I heard the news and ordered all 63 colors of their new Colour Crafter a few weeks ago (no, I don’t get any commissions from their sales.  I just crazy love Scheepjes yarn and could not make up my mind on which colors to choose!)   I will have to show you that stash soon.

Edit to add:  I just heard a US-based company, Paradise Fibers, is going to start carrying Scheepjes yarn and they already have Colour Crafter!  I’ve never ordered from them but may have to try them out soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
