keitopalette

Friends Around the World CAL Week 3 – Stephan by Esther

Words cannot express how excited I am with the 2nd designer for Friends around the World CAL – the first anniversary celebration crochet-along by the most supportive Facebook crochet community, CAL – Crochet A Long!!  This week, Esther of It’s All in a Nutshell is sharing her Stephan square!!  As many of you know, Esther is the master video tutor of various crochet alongs and generously and graciously created the video tutorials for my Around-the-Bases CAL.  She even translated the pattern into Dutch each week.  I am forever grateful for all of her support and friendship.

Esther has this magical way of explaining things in her calm and soothing voice.  I am not exaggerating when I say she has helped thousands of people with crochet-alongs.  If you have seen videos for the following CALs, to name a few, you’ve seen her videos:

I can go on and on about how wonderful Esther is but I do want to show you my Stephan square.

Stephan

It is made with Scheepjes Colour Crafter in Barneveld and Texel as well as Scheepjes Colour Crafter Velvet in Taylor.  Taylor has a denim look with a light blue very close to Texel and a darker indigo color mixed in.  I made Stephan with a 4.5 mm and it measures about 9.5 inches across.

Here are a couple of hints that you might find helpful:

  • When changing colors, I start at a different corner than the previous one
  • Pay close attention as the pattern incorporates both back loop only stitches and back post stitches
  • On back loop only stitches, I try to pick up an extra loop – see Tatsians’s post on how to make back loops with no holes 
  • Round 7 – dc goes into the 3rd dc from the previous row – this is the 10th stitch

 

I cannot wait to see her second design next week!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2016 by in Crochet - Other, Friends around the World CAL.
