keitopalette

Last Dance on the Beach CAL to start 4/20/2016

Last year, the crochet community lost a beautiful creative being, Marinke “Wink” Slump.  Many of us who were touched by her life through colorful creations are joining the CAL, Last Dance on the Beach on 4/20/2016.  We hear this CAL is being organized by Scheepjes with her friends and family and the pattern will be posted each week at Sheepjes website.  Importantly, the CAL is raising awareness for depression and mental illness.

There is a lot of buzz about this CAL on the Facebook group, Scheepjes CAL International.  In fact, there has been so much interest that the official yarn kits were sold out within days.  I debated whether or not to purchase the kit, as we could participate in the CAL with yarns of our choice (you can find support for using non-Scheepjes yarns at Facebook group CAL – Crochet A Long).  Also, the luxury kit was quite out of my budget.  But I am a huge sucker of cute bags – in fact, I think I first found Wink’s blog when she posted about the Scheepjes Flight of Fancy CAL kit.  So I decided to skip Starbucks coffee for a while and called it a late birthday gift for myself.

Well, the kit arrived and OMG, I am in LOVE with Merino Soft yarn!!  There are also CAL kits with Colour Crafter, which is one of my favorite yarns.  Merino Soft and Colour Crafter are equally soft and squishy so maybe my new found love is my subconscious justification for buying the yarn.  But Merino Soft feels very “special” with gorgeous sheen to it!  And of course, the bag and other goodies, which included a super cute pair of scissors, are such a treat!

Last Dance Kit

I do take the spirit of this CAL to heart and know that I will be reminded of Wink throughout the CAL and every time I see the blanket afterwards.  Thank you, Wink, for the gift of creativity and love.

Wink.jpg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
