keitopalette

Friends Around the World CAL Week 6 – Sapphire Dream by Saraphir

Sapphire Dream by Saraphir Qaa-Rishi is the pattern for Week 6 of the Friends Around the World CAL, anniversary CAL for the Facebook group, CAL – Crochet A Long.  This pattern reminded me of a dream catcher.  Somehow I felt peaceful while working at the mandala stage.

When I first started the CAL, I planned to make all the squares mostly in one color and using 3 colors with Scheepjes Colour Crafter (Urk, Barneveld, and Texel).  But this pattern really made me want to add a little more colors and I *happen* to have almost all the colors from Colour Crafter collections (yes, I admit I bought all colors last fall when the yarn was first introduced.  I’ve used many as it has turned into my most favorite economical yarn but I still have a ton.)   Alphen looked a little more muted than I liked, but

Scheepjes Colour Crafter Alphen 1722

when I put it next to Urk, it looked so lovely together.  I fell in love.

FATW 6

The pattern was easy to follow and I did not take any notes.  I did decide which colors I wanted in what order before I started.  I also frogged some when the color placement did not turn out quite as I liked.

At around round 12, I realized my square was getting a little big (I am shooting for around 9 inches using DK yarn and a 4.5 mm hook) so I frogged down to round 10 and made the rest of the rounds in hdc’s instead of dc’s.  Well, I should have stuck with the original pattern because now the square is a little smaller than 9 inches.  Oh well, live and learn and I am sure it will all turn out okay as the CAL team is going to help us join squares in different sizes.

Friends around the World CAL –  you can find links to all the patterns for this CAL here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
