keitopalette

Happy Granny Square Day!

Happy Granny Square Day, everyone!  You might have already figured out from my giant granny square, Around-the-Bases afghan, I am drawn to crochet patterns that go around and around vs those that crochet from bottom up.  And today with the power of internet, we are introduced to so many creative granny squares from around the world.

I am currently working on a set of adorable granny squares called Seaside Winter Blanket, created by Zelna in South Africa.  The patterns are generously offered free as a crochet-along (CAL).  Seaside Winter Blanket

From Left to Right:

I think some of these are names of beaches in South Africa – Zelna has pictures and information on them.  So keeping with the beach theme (though not winter at all here!), I chose colors from our summer vacation in Sea Side, Florida,

Florida beach colors

in a little more subtle colors of Cream, Cloud Blue, Storm Blue, Petrol, and Parchment of Stylecraft Special DK.  I’m working with a 4.5 mm hook and my squares measure a little shy of 8 inches (@20 cm).

You can see many more beautiful colorway examples on Facebook Seaside Winter Blanket CAL group and CAL – Crochet A Long group.

I think there are 4 more squares left of the CAL – so it’s not too late to join!  I actually enjoy crocheting along a little behind schedule so the timing is perfect for me.  I will keep updating my Ravelry page with future squares.

2 comments on “Happy Granny Square Day!

  1. lucyannluna
    August 17, 2016

    Very pretty

    Like

  2. may faucher
    September 5, 2016

    I am blown away by the talent. I mostly crochet sweaters, baby things, and scarves, etc. It’s been probably 30 yrs since I crocheted an Afghan/blanket. I realize I must finish up my WIP and get back to the Aryans/blankets thanks for your inspiriation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
