keitopalette

Texas State Fair 2016

In late September to October, city of Dallas hosts the Texas State Fair, which is this crazy big fair that attracts nearly 3 million visitors with their live stock competitions, car and truck shows, carnival rides, fried foods, and the ultimate rivalry football game between Universities of Texas and Oklahoma.  This year, I entered my favorite blue and white Enchanted Garden Around-the-Bases afghan into their craft fair and I am happy to report that I received the blue ribbon in the small afghan category!

texas-state-fairYou may remember this beauty from the 5th inning of the Around-the-Bases Crochet-Along.   The linked post has info about the center square, how I expanded the base block, yarn used, etc.  Photo tutorial for the center block is available at my Ravelry shop and it continues to be a popular download along with the full PDF version of the Around-the-Bases afghan.

I cannot decide if I want to finally start using it as an everyday blanket or frame it for my future dream craft room.  🙂

texas-state-fair-1texas-state-fair-2

 

5 comments on “Texas State Fair 2016

  1. kadampapenny
    November 20, 2016

    Beautiful work! And congrats on the ribbon! Hanging on my wall is an embroidered picture done by my grandma years ago that has her county fair blue ribbon taped to the back of the frame. Guess that tells you what I think you should do with it, yes? Whatever you decide, you should definitely be proud of your accomplishment.

    Like

  2. Cynthia
    November 20, 2016

    Congratulations, a well deserved win.

    Like

  3. Janet
    November 20, 2016

    Awesome well done it is beautiful I love your colours

    Like

  4. Judy
    November 21, 2016

    Congratulations!!! And very well-deserved, I must say!

    Like

  5. It's all in a Nutshell
    November 21, 2016

    Well deserved!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
