keitopalette

One skein project – Marlin Cowl (knitted)

marlin-cowl-1I’ve been in love with this knitted pattern, Marlin Cowl.  I first made it for my dear friend, Lynn, in England, and enjoyed its fun, rhythmical pattern that creates  a beautiful lacey appearance.

This lovely pattern is created by Stephanie who owns my local and favorite yarn shop, WC Mercantile.  I love this friendly store and stop by there even when I don’t have anything in mind to make!

I made the blue one with Austiana yarn, which is light fingering weight in 50% Merino wool and 50% silk.

I loved the pattern so much that I made one for myself with fingering yarn I bought a year ago on our road trip to Memphis, TN, at Bliss Yarns.  This too was a friendly shop with lots of gorgeous yarns.  When I go on road trips, I often buy just one skein of fingering weight yarn, which I find it perfect for making a decent size project like a cowl.  I chose Zen Serenity yarn, which is 75% Superwash Merino / 15% Cashmere / 10% Silk, and it worked up beautifully.

Now I have a dear friend who loves to knit and we have been talking about dyeing our own yarn.  We never seem to be able to find time for that, so I went back to WC Mercantile, bought a bare Austiana yarn, and dyed it for her.  I am going to give my hand-dyed hank with Marlin Cowl pattern to her.  I know she would love it!

2 comments on “One skein project – Marlin Cowl (knitted)

  1. lynnettelau
    January 5, 2017

    I was blown away by this beautiful gift from a very special soul ChiChi.
    I wear it with such happiness & feel surrounded by the memory of my new crochet circle of friends. Feels just perfect & very special. Such talent ChiChi & gorgeous yarn too!
    Thank you from deep down ChiChi xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
