keitopalette

Friends Around the World CAL – Petals and Diamonds

I am so excited to share my square for Friends Around the World crochet along (CAL) organized by the CAL – Crochet A Long group.  The Facebook group kindly hosted my  Around-the-Bases (ATB) CAL (which started exactly 1 year ago today) and I was so honored to be asked to be part of THEIR anniversary CAL!  The group started less than 1.5 years ago and now boasts over 25,000 members.  They are the friendliest group whose members are constantly sharing amazingly beautiful crochet works. The Friends Around the World CAL is literally a collaborate work among friends around the world and I am so thrilled to be introducing the 20th pattern for the CAL.  You can find all other Friends Around the World squares here (and they are all free).

Inspiration

My square design is inspired by Japanese sashiko quilting.  Although I am not a quilter, I have always admired the simple beauty of this traditional Japanese quilting which is often made with fabric dyed in Japanese indigo.

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 3.36.07 PM

Screen shot of google search “sashiko”

As you can see, sashiko designs are stunning as a singleton, when repeated, or when combined with other patterns.  I hope you will find my “Petals and Diamonds” similarly versatile.

Petals and Diamonds

Petals and Diamond

The free pattern can be found at my Ravelry page.  Translations in Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Hebrew, Korean, Spanish, and Swedish are provided courtesy of the fabulous CAL – Crochet A Long translation team.  (Please note only the English version has been tested. If there are any discrepancies between the English version and other languages, please refer to the English version for accuracy.)

The sample above is made with Scheepjes Stone Washed XL (color 853 Amazonite) with a 5.5 mm hook and measures around 12 inches / 30 cm.  When made with a double knit (DK) weight yarn, they measure approximately 9 inches / 23 cm.  Below samples are made with Scheepjes Colour Crafter (color Urk) and Linen Soft (colors 622 Seafoam & 629 Baby Blue) with a 4.0 mm hook.

Petals and Diamond DK

I am also making some with lighter weight yarn which I am planning on turning into a lap blanket. I am thinking of adding some lacy border – don’t you think it will be lovely?  I will be sure to show you the final beauty when it’s done.

Disclosure: Stone Washed XL yarn used in the cover photo was provided by Scheepjes.  However, my preference for and opinions on Scheepjes yarns are my own and independent from their generous support.

One comment on “Friends Around the World CAL – Petals and Diamonds

  1. Lynda Anderson-Fisk
    August 4, 2016

    So beautiful! I love its simple elegance! Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2016 by in Uncategorized.